Our People

Our teachers are subject specialists with a deep understanding of boys’ education who facilitate learning within a community that is continually evolving to meet the needs of each young man. Our aim is that leavers of St Bede’s College are self-directed and reflective learners who can adapt, think and collaborate well with others.

2021 Staff List

Senior Leadership Team

Rector – Mr Justin Boyle, BA, DipTchg

Deputy Rector – Teaching and Learning  – Mr Jon McDowall PGDipEdAdminLead, BEd, GradDipTchLn

Deputy Rector – Pastoral – Mr Gerard Davidson MA (Hons), DipTchg

Ministry Team Coordinator – Mrs Rachel Pitcaithly BA, DipTchg

General Manager – Steve Kelsen, Chartered Accountant, Chartered Secretary, MInstD, ACG, BCom, Dip Hum

Across School Leader – Mr Matt Malone, MEd(Leadership) Distinction, BDes, GradDipTchgLn 

Community Liason Development Manager – Ms Clare Wilkinson Dip ECE

Assistant Rector Assessment and Enhancement – Mr James BurnsideMChem (Hons), PhD, PGCE 

Assistant Rector Wellbeing and Engagement –  Mr Diarmuid McMahon BA Ed, PGCE

Heads of Faculty

Physical Education and Health –  Mr Bruce Cameron BSc, BAROE, DipTchg  

Mathematics –  Mr Fred DeMarco BA, MPA, DipTchLn 

Science – Mr Richard Freeman BSc, DipTchg 

Technology – Mr John Gamblin Adv T Cert, DipTchg, Dip S.S 

Arts – Ms Abi King BMus, DipTchLn 

English and Languages – Ms Morgan Lynn BA, Dip Tch&Ln

Director Religious Education –  Mr Grant Ven BA Hons, DipTchg  

Social Sciences – Mr Nick Ryan BA, GrapDipTchg (Secondary)

Centre of Enhancement –  Mr James Burnside, MChem (Hons), PhD, PGCE  



Heads of Year

Year 9 – Mr Kurt Paterson, BEd, GradDipTchgLn

Year 10 – Mr John McPhail BAgrSc, DipTchg

Year 11 – Mr Liam Foley BA, DipTchg 

Year 12 – Mr Daniel Winchester BEd (PE) DipTchg

Year 13 – Ms Calie Cron Dip Design, DipTchg

Heads of House

Benedict – Ms Margaret Whelan [SENCO], BA in Education, Business and Religious Studies

Colin – Miss Robyn Warburton BSc and GradDipTchg

Mannix – Mr David Bryce BRecEd, GradDipTchLn 

McCarthy – Mr Luke Hardinge 

Redwood – Mr Eoin Shiel, BSc. (Education) with Physics and Chemistry

Administrative Positions

Principal’s Nominee – TBA

Director of International Rugby Programme and Rugby Development Officer – Mr Mark Ealey MA Japanese (Hons) and MA Japanese Applied Lingustics

Director of Sport – Mr Richard Pithey BA (ED) Human Movement Science

Director of International Students – Mr Robert Tappenden BA DipTchg

Systems Administrator – Mr Kelvyn Pithie 

Academic Staff

Mrs Brenda Bickerstaff, BEd

Mrs Sally-Ann Clarke BAgrSc, DipTchg

Mrs Emma-Louise Cooper BA (Hons) [English], PGCE 

Mr Simon Cooper MCom (Hons), BBSc, GradDipTchg

Mr Greg Crean BA, GradDipTchLn

Mr Andrew Cropp BEd, DipTchg BA, GradDipTchg

Mrs Lou Days  BA, GradDipTchg

Mr Mark Dowers BA, GradDipTchLn (Secondary)

Mr Brian Dunne BA, DipTchg

Mr Steve Entwistle BSc, PGCE

Miss Francesca Festa BA, DipTchLn

Ms Holly Growden BA, GradDipTchg

Mr Luke Hardinge 

Mr Chris Hubble [Across School Leader], BLA(Hons), DipTchLn [TiC Graphics]

Mr Peter Johnson BSc, DipTchg

Ms Elrie Jordaan BSc in Geography and Geology, GradDipTchg

Mr John Kane BA (Education), M.Ed (Leadership)

Mr David Litten BSc, DipTchg

Mr Matt Malone [Across School Leader], MEd(Leadership) Distinction, BDes, GradDipTchgLn 

Ms Jill McArthur BSc, DipTchg

Dr Maarten McKubre-Jordens Phd, BSc (Hons), BA, GradDipTchLn

Mr Grant McKenzie, PhD Sc, DipTchgLn

Mr John McPhail BAgrSc, DipTchg

Mr John Mullen BDes, DipTchg

Mr Doug Palmer BSc, DipTchg

Mr Kurt Paterson, BEd, GradDipTchgLn (Physical Education)

Mrs Vanessa Payne, BA, DipTchg

Mr David Price Adv T Cert, DipTchg, Dip S.S (Technology)

Ms Brooke Rowland BSc, DipTchg

Mr David Ruddle BEd (LTIC Digital Technology)

Mr Kerry Sullivan, Bachelor of Resource Studies

Mr David Van Voorst  NZCE Telecommunications and GradDipTchg

Mrs Margaret Walcott DipTchg (Assistant DRS)

Miss Robyn Warburton BSc and GradDipTchg

Ms Margaret Whelan [SENCO], BA in Education, Business and Religious Studies

Mr Brandon Wilson BPhEd, DipTchg (Secondary)

Mr Callum Wilson BA, DipTchg

Mr Reed Wilson, BHSHP – Bachelor of Health, Sport and Human Performance, GradDipTchng (Secondary)

Mr Daniel Winchester BEd (PE) DipTchg


Student Support

Gateway Coordinator / Careers – Mr Bill Hall BCom, DipTchg 

Arts Coordinator – Mr George Berry

Teacher Aide – Mrs Andrea Brennan 

Guidance Counsellor – Mr Wiremu Gray Diploma Counselling, member NZAC

Teacher Aide – Mrs Rosalie Goode 

Centre of Wellbeing Administrator – Ms Jo James BEd

TiC Careers Guidance – Ms Jan Kershaw MEd, BEd, BCaps, PrimDipTchg 

Teacher Aide – Ms Monique Rae

Teacher Aide – Mrs Christine Sutherland 

Teacher Aide – Mrs Nicola Taylor

Associate staff

Communication and Database Administrator – Mrs Jacqui Anderson

Pastoral Assistant – Mrs Joanne Davidson

Executive Assistant to Rector – Mrs Denise Doherty

College Shop Manager – Mrs Jill Falloon

College Shop Assistant – Ms Philippa Grey

Laboratory Technician – Mrs Elizabeth Gudgeon

Community Coordinator – Mrs Kathryn Eagle

Laboratory Technician – Mr Rodger Lane

Centre of Enhancement Administrator –  Mrs Rebecca Inglis

Accountant – Ms Diane Walshe

Receptionist – Mrs Michelle Schikker

Teaching and Learning Assistant – Mrs Amy Symington

Accounts payable – Mrs Claire Thompson

Student Accounts and Compliance – Mrs Karen Watson

Librarian – Mrs Chrissie Walker, BA (English and Classics)

Finance Office Team Leader – Miss Samantha Wedge, BCom

Web Editor – Mrs Denise Wilkes

Boarding school


Director of Boarding –  Mr David (Dai) Williams Cert Ed, B PE & English Hons

Senior Team Leader  – Mr Kurt Paterson 
Junior Team Leader –  Mrs Kate Williams

Plants and grounds


Caretaker – Mr Richard Howe

Groundsman – Mr Chris Jones 

St Bede's College rector
St Bede's College mass